Roane State Community College
Go Here. Get There.
RaiderNet    Momentum    A-Z Index    Contact Us

Roane State Community College

Presidential Search
2012-10-01 - TBR Approves Chris Whaley as Roane State President
2012-10-01 - TBR Approves Chris Whaley as Roane State President

TBR Approves Chris Whaley as Roane State President; Tony Creecy as TTC-Pulaski Director

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (October 1, 2012) – The Tennessee Board of Regents unanimously approved Chris Whaley as the next president for Roane State Community College and Tony Creecy as the new director at the Tennessee Technology Center in Pulaski.

Whaley will assume his leadership role at the college beginning Nov. 1. Creecy has already been serving as interim director at the TTC and will continue in the permanent position as of Oct. 1.

The Board met via telephone today to consider TBR Chancellor John Morgan’s recommendations for both leadership positions.  Whaley will replace Gary Goff, Roane State’s retiring president of the last seven years. Creecy succeeds Jim Dixon, who retired from the TTC-Pulaski in June. (See the press releases announcing Morgan’s recommendations at

Whaley was selected after an extensive search that began earlier this year. He has served as the vice president of student learning and chief academic officer at Roane State since 2010. Before that, he was dean of social science, business and education and served as a faculty member of the college.

Creecy has 27 years of administrative experience at the TTC in Pulaski and served as assistant director since 2004.

The TBR is the nation’s sixth largest higher education system, governing 46 post-secondary educational institutions.  The TBR system includes six universities, 13 two-year colleges and 27 technology centers, providing programs to more than 200,000 students across the state.

Contact Us!  Mobile Site  © Roane State Community College