Skip to Main Content
Roane State Community CollegeRoane State Community College

Roane State Community College

Reconnect. Free tuition for adults. Get started now. See RequirementsFree tuition for adults. Get started now. See Requirements
RSCC Home>
News: Roane State students honored

News: Roane State students honored

June 9, 2014
Roane State students honored

Mason Van Horn of Kingston received Roane State Community College’s highest student honor, the 2014 President’s Award.

Ashley Maples of Maryville was named the College’s Outstanding Freshman.

Additional students from the area also received recognition for their achievements in the 2013-14 academic year.

Anderson County

Clinton: Adam Jennings, Excellence in Networking; Jeremy Bozeman, Outstanding GIS Student Award; Kevin Stevenson, Academic Achievement Award; Timothy Smith, June Bilbrey Excellence in Nursing Award

Oak Ridge: Amanda Sproles, OTA Student of Recognition; Catherine Heacock, Academic Achievement Award, President's Award Nominee; Todd Guthrie, Excellence in Business Management Technology; Jenna McCarty, Paralegal Studies Award; Joseph White, Outstanding Geology Student Award, Tamke-Allan Observatory Award; Ronald Payne, Outstanding History Student Award; Wade Darnell, Outstanding Learning Center Tutor, Excellence in Programming

Blount County

Louisville: Bruce Lester, Academic Excellence in Geospacial Science

Maryville: Ashley Maples, Outstanding Freshman Award Winner; Carrie Smith, Organic Chemistry Award; Everett McElveen II, Outstanding Freshman Award Nominee

Cumberland County

Crossville: Cheyenne Mayo, Academic Achievement Award; Dawn Mishmash, Outstanding Learning Center Tutor; James Davis, Beulah Davis Outstanding Freshman Writer (narrative); Steven Houston, Outstanding Criminal Justice Student      

Knox County

Knoxville: Cheryl Anderson, Tennessee Association of Student Nurses Leadership Award; Julie Palmer, Heck Design Award; Lissa Smith, Excellence in Spanish; Maggie Moges, Dr. Anne P. Minter Chemistry Award; Tara Banks, Excellence in French; Weng Leong Choy, Freshman Math Award

Loudon County

Loudon: Carrie Rosati, Academic Achievement Award, Outstanding Health Information Technology Student; Virginia Palmer, President's Award Nominee

Meigs County

Ten Mile: Aaron Fielden, Baseball Academic Award

Monroe County

Sweetwater: Caroline Dean, Biology Academic Award

Morgan County
Lancing: Denise Howard, Christine Mills Award; Dylan Wilks, Humanities Award, President's Award Nominee; Leah Wilson, Contemporary Management Award, Academic Achievement Award;

Oakdale: Abby Goldston, Academic Achievement Award, Nursing Merit Award

Wartburg: Kimberly Carroll, Outstanding Art Achievement Award

Putnam County

Monterey: Kassandra Wise, Outstanding Actor Award, President's Award Nominee

Rhea County

Dayton: Sarah Freels, Softball Academic Award

Spring City:  Georgette Boozer, All-Tennessee Academic Team, Environmental Health Technology Student of the Year; Sarah Nixon, Women's Basketball Academic Award

Roane County

Harriman: Amy Scott, President's Award Nominee; Cortney Poland, President's Award Nominee; Darius Gallaher, Men's Basketball Academic Award; Sarah Townsend, Academic Achievement Award, Roane State Education Award; Zackary Strickland, Beaulah Davis Outstanding Freshman Writer Award (literary analysis)

Kingston: Dakota Strange, Freshman Math Award; Donya Cooley, AAUW Education Award; Marcus Wise, All-Tennessee Academic Team, Sophomore Math Award, Calculus-Based Physics Award; Pamela Stewart, Social and Behavioral Science Award; Samuel Hooper, Beulah Davis Outstanding Freshman Writer (research); Shawn Mason Van Horn, Outstanding Learning Center Tutor, Outstanding Musician Award, President's Award Winner; Stacy Chelf, Organic Chemistry Award; Suzann Campbell, President's Award Nominee; Tamra Oliver, President's Award Nominee, Contemporary Management Award; Taylor Watson, Outstanding Pre-Engineering Award, Academic Achievement Award

Oliver Springs: Jenna Francois, Service Learning Award

Rockwood: D. Luke Pelley, Writing Learning Support Award; Rachael Clipson, Academic Achievement Award, Christa McAuliffe Education Award;

Scott County

Helenwood: Lynsey Lowe, Opticianry Student of the Year

Huntsville: Kayla Byrd, Outstanding Accounting Student

Oneida: Taylon Brewster, Academic Achievement Award

Roane State is a two-year college providing transfer curricula, career-preparation programs and continuing education. Founded in 1971, the college has campuses in Crossville, Harriman, Huntsville, Jamestown, Knoxville, LaFollette, Lenoir City, Oak Ridge and Wartburg.

For more information, visit or call 1-866-GO2-RSCC (1-866-462-7722).

Tennessee’s Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. All colleges in the system offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit


Owen Driskill • (865) 354-3000 ext. 2301 •

Connect with us

© Roane State Community College

Roane State Community College is a TBR and AA/EEO employer and does not discriminate against students, employees, or applicants for admission or employment on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, disability, age, status as a protected veteran, genetic information, or any other legally protected class with respect to all employment, programs and activities sponsored by Roane State. View full non-discrimination policy.

Tennessee's Community Colleges Tennessee Board of Regents / Tennessee Transfer Pathways TN eCampus

Report Fraud, Waste and Abuse

Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998