An additional round of emergency aid is available to help Spring 2022 students with college expenses impacted by the pandemic. A two-question survey is required for payment. Be sure to complete both questions and click "survey complete." Check your email or visit roanestate.edu/ARPA for info.
Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons
Disabled persons suffering from a permanent total disability and persons 60 years of age or older, who live in Tennessee, are eligible to enroll in courses for AUDIT without payment of tuition, technology, student activity fees, or registration fees. All remaining fees including special course fees will be assessed at the normal rate.
Disabled persons and persons sixty-five years of age or older, who live in Tennessee, are eligible to enroll in courses for CREDIT at the rate of $70 per semester . This rate applies to tuition fees, technology fees, student activity fees and registration fees. Special fees will be assessed at the regular rate, including but not limited to, course-specific fees, materials fees, online couse fees, etc. Arrangements should be made well in advance of registration day to provide documented evidence of disability or age.
Fees for all Community Service courses must be paid at the regular rate.
Pursuant to TCA 49-7-102, certain statutory fee exceptions exist for dependents and spouses of military personnel killed, missing in action, or officially declared a prisoner of war while serving honorably as a member of the armed forces during a period of armed conflict. If these provisions are invoked by a student, the correct applicable law will be determined. Contact the Business Office for additional information.
Higher Education Employees-Public Chapter 191
Full-time employees of the Tennessee Board of Regents and the University of Tennessee are eligible to enroll, on a space available basis, in one credit class per term without payment of tuition, technology, student activity, student government or access fees. Information on this program is available from the Human Resources Office. An application for Waiver of Fees—Public Chapter 191 (fully executed by the employing institution) must be presented at the time of registration. Participants in this program may register beginning four weeks prior to the first day of classes.
State Employee Fee Waiver Program
Full-time employees of the State of Tennessee are eligible to enroll, on a space available basis, in one credit course per term without paying tuition charges, technology fees, student activity fees, student government fee or registration fees. At the time of enrollment, the state employee must present a completed “Public Higher Education Fee Waiver for Employees of the State of Tennessee” form certifying that the applicant is a full-time employee with at least six months continuous service. Information on this program and related eligibility requirements is available from the Business Office. Participants in this program may register beginning no earlier than four weeks prior to the first official day of classes.
Fee Discount Program for Spouses and Dependent Children of TBR Employees
Spouses and dependent children of certain retired employees and regular employees of Tennessee Board of Regents institutions who have been employed for at least one continuous year and work at least one-half time are eligible for up to a 50% discount on tuition, technology, student government, access and activity fees. The amount of the tuition fee discount is 50% for full-time employees. Spouses and dependent children of part-time employees will receive a pro-rata portion of the 50% discount based on the employee’s percentage of work effort. This program is applicable only to undergraduate credit courses. Certain special conditions must be met to qualify for this program. Information on the program is available from the Personnel Office. A Request for Fee Discount for Spouse and/or Dependent form (fully executed by the employing institution) must be presented at the time of registration.
Fee Discount Program for Children of Licensed Public School Teachers and for Children of State Employees
Students under the age of 24 may receive a 25% discount on tuition fees and technology fees at any state operated institution of higher learning if their parent: (1) is employed as a full-time licensed teacher in any public school in Tennessee or as a full-time employee of the state of Tennessee, (2) is a retired employee of the state of Tennessee who retired after a minimum of 25 years of creditable service, (3) was killed in the line of duty while a full-time employee of the state of Tennessee, or (4) died while a full-time employee, though not “in the line of duty.” Fee discounts will not be retroactive; eligibility for the fee discount is available only by application and approval prior to the beginning of the term for which assistance is being sought. Information on this program and related eligibility requirements is available from the Business Office.
Roane State Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, ethnicity or national origin, sex, disability, age, status as protected veteran or any other class protected by Federal or State laws and regulation and by Tennessee board of Regents policies with respect to employment, programs, and activities. View full non-discrimination policy.