Skip to Main Content
Roane State Community CollegeRoane State Community College

Roane State Community College

Reconnect. Free tuition for adults. Get started now. See RequirementsFree tuition for adults. Get started now. See Requirements
RSCC Policies
RSCC Home>
RSCC Policy GA-25-01; Standing Committees

RSCC Policy GA-25-01; Standing Committees

Roane State Community College
Policy Number: GA-25-01
Subject: Standing Committees

Committee assignments are considered part of the responsibility of all members of the institution, since an institution cannot operate effectively without the planning and ideas of students, faculty, and other staff.

The president appoints standing committees in the fall term to serve for one academic year (see list below).

These appointments are based on the employee's request and the recommendations of the vice president or at the direction of the president. Generally, part-time faculty are not appointed as voting members of standing committees. Professional staff and students of the college are asked to serve on certain committees. All standing committees are advisory, unless assigned policy-making duties by the president. Recommendations and reports of all committees are made known to the faculty as relevance requires. The faculty can use the standing committees for making suggestions and recommendations to the administration.

The chairperson of each committee is appointed by the president to preside for one academic year. The duties of the chairperson are to initiate, formulate, and report to the president suggestions and recommendations discussed by the committee. Meetings of all committees should be held on a regular basis. The president and other executive officers will attempt to be available for committee meetings, if and when a committee chairperson requests.

Standing Committes

Academic and Curriculum Council
Academic Festival
Academic Misconduct and Plagiarism
Admissions and Retention
Allied Health Science Admissions
Arts and Lectures
Awards Night Planning
Budget Preparation
Completion Overview
Community Service
Conflict of Interest
Educational Technology
Environmental Sustainability (Green) Committee
Executive Council
Financial Aid
General Education and Assessment
Grant Review
Honors Advisory
Institutional Research Board
Institutional Review Panel for Lottery Appeals
International Education Council
Learning Center Advisory Council
Library Advisory
Nursing Admissions
Patents and Copyrights
Phi Theta Kappa Advisory
President’s Cabinet
Professional Development Admin/Staff
Professional Development Faculty
Promotion and Tenure
SAILS (Students Achieving Improved Learning Strategies) Assessment
SAILS Steering
Service Learning

Site Support Teams:

  • Campbell County
  • Cumberland County
  • Fentress County
  • Knox County
  • Loudon County
  • ORBC
  • Morgan County
  • Roane County
  • Scott County

Strategic Planning
Student Learning Diversity Team
Student Organization Sponsors (If you sponsor a student organization club, please indicate along with your name.)
Technology Access Fee (TAF)

Revision History: 07/01/1995, 02/15/1999, 02/12/2007, 06/18/2007, 09/26/2012
Revision Date Effective: 09/26/2012
Revision Approval By: Gary Goff, President
Original Date Effective: 03/16/1988
Original Approval By: Cuyler A. Dunbar, President
Office Responsible: Vice President Student Learning
Reviewed: 04/30/2014

Connect with us

© Roane State Community College

Roane State Community College is a TBR and AA/EEO employer and does not discriminate against students, employees, or applicants for admission or employment on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, disability, age, status as a protected veteran, genetic information, or any other legally protected class with respect to all employment, programs and activities sponsored by Roane State. View full non-discrimination policy.

Tennessee's Community Colleges Tennessee Board of Regents / Tennessee Transfer Pathways TN eCampus

Report Fraud, Waste and Abuse

Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998